What Really Matters In Life?

Well, we are back from our family vacation and boy, did we need it.  It was an opportunity to truly relax, reflect and appreciate what really matters in life.  We went to Folly Beach, SC and we had the best time.  We went to the beach daily and then hurried back to the house to change and then walk the streets of downtown Charleston.  I didn’t realize how much history sits in the state of SC.  I visited the Slave Mart Museum where the building was the actual Auction Block where slaves were bought, sold and traded.  I toured the Boone Hall Plantation, the only living plantation in SC.  This simply means that they still grow crops there and are sold from this plantation.  One of the most poignant parts of the tour was when I met a lovely lady who was weaving the  sweetgrass baskets at the Market.  When I began talking to her, she shared with me that her grand-mother, mother and she were raised on the Boone Hall Plantation.  I had the honor and privilege to meet an actual descendant from the Boone Hall Plantation the day after my tour and on my birthday, June 9th.

More importantly, this vacation was a time of renewal, rebirth of quality family time, appreciating my life as it is.  I took advantage of the time and read two books.  This is something that I don’t do very often is finish a book in a week let alone, two.  I felt such a sense of accomplishment.  The books were: The Five Love Languages and When God Winks at You.  I couldn’t put the books down.  Could it have been that the books were so interesting or was it that I dedicated time to self-improvement.  This shouldn’t just happen on vacation.  I have to carve out dedicated time for my daily spiritual devotions, reading books more often, knitting, playing with the kids and of course, quality time with my husband.  We had so much fun that I can’t really put it all into words.

I decided that this vacation will continue even here in Ohio.  I will commit to myself that life is too short to allow the little things to pass by.  I will aim to read one book per week.  I will knit daily.  I want to even blog daily on my personal blog because this is therapeutic.  I will schedule my running or walking events to occur weekly and prepare for the Half Marathon. When I write it down, it seems like I’m clearly speaking it into existence and I can even hold myself accountable.

Thank you for listening and being open to my life as a person of strong faith in the Lord, woman, wife, mother, business owner and advocate of causes.  Some of my blogs will be spiritual to encourage, family oriented to relate, humorous, long and sometimes short.

What have you realized lately about your life and the time that you invest in it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment